<a class="menuButton" href="?sLang=en">english</a> | <a class="menuButton" href="?sLang=de">deutsch</a> | <a class="menuButton" href="?sLang=fr">francais</a> | <a class="menuButton" href="?sLang=nl">nederland</a> | <a class="menuButton" href="?sLang=jp">japanese</a> | <a class="menuButton" href="?sLang=ru">rosyjski</a> | <a class="menuButton" href="?sLang=zn">chinese</a>
Skip Navigation

Group Tourism - Itineraries

The Trail of Polish Gothic Castles

Ryn - Kêtrzyn - Ostroda - Malbork - Sztum - Kwidzyn - Brodnica
5 days, 4 nights

Day 1Castles in Poland
  • Morning - arrival to the Warsaw Airport, transfer to Ryn ,
  • In meantime lunch
  • About 4:00 p. m arrival to City and Castle RYN
At the end of the 14th century the Teutonic Knights built a castle in Ryn which served as a base for their wars with Lithuanians. The castle was a seat of the Teutonic Knights Commander till 1525. The first Commander was the future Grand Master of the Order, Konrad Wallenrod (the title character of the poetic novel by Adam Mickiewicz). Two years after building the castle, another Grand Master of the Order, Winrich von Kniprode, came toRyn in order to inspect and take over the castle. He came back to Malbork by waterway and since 1378, Ryn had a connection with the Baltic Sea. Since 21st of July 1723 Ryn has been a certified town. The certificate was given to it by the king of Prussia, Fryderyk Wilhelm I. In 1853 the castle was converted into a prison. At present, in one of the wings there is the local administration council office. The courtyard is a good place for events, such as: family meetings at the castle, musical meetings or feasts with knights' tournaments which take place almost every day. Other monuments in the town are: a Dutch windmill, a mill and many tenements. The area of Ryn is famous for its picturesque glacial landscape with many forests and lakes. Rynskie Lake is connected with the Great Mazurian Lakes. Sailors will find numerous marinas, camping sites and holiday camps here. Trails and bicycles routes lead to many interesting places of the area, among others, to the Teutonic signalling mound near a village called Orlo. A wonderful location of the town between two lakes: Rynskie and Orlow in Kraina Wielkich Jezior Mazurskich (the Land of Great Mazurian Lakes) and charming villages at the waterway from Wêgorzewo via Gi¿ycko to Ruciane Nida give tourists a great choice of recreational activities throughout the year. Castles in Ketrzyn
  • Check in the "¯ero" Hotel,
  • In evening Welcome Knights Feast
Day 2
  • 9:00 breakfast,
  • 10:00 Transfer to Ketrzyn
  • 11:00 visiting the castle
Kêtrzyn is a 30-thousands town situated on the border between Warmia and Mazury, at an intersection of routes leading to Wêgorzewo, Mršgowo, Bartoszyce and Gi¿ycko. This convenient location gives Kêtrzyn an opportunity to develop in the fields of tourism and trade. The town is attractive not only because of its location at the intersection of trails leading to Reszel, wiêta Lipka and to the Great Lakes. It is also known for many tourist sights (among others: a baroque basilica in wiêta Lipka and the remains of Wilczy Szaniec (Wolfschranz or Wolf's Lair)- Adolf Hitler's military headquarters in Gierlo¿) and for a developing chain of hotels and numerous leisure facilities. Kêtrzyn (called Rastenburg until 1946) was founded by the Teutonic Knights in place of a Prussian settlement, Rast which developed around a wooden watchtower. On 11 November, 1357 the Commander of Balga, Johann Schindekopf, made the settlement a certified town. The castle of Kêtrzyn was built in the second half of the 14th century in the south-east wing of the settlement. There were, among others, a chapel, a bakery, a kitchen, a mill, a malt-house, a brewery, a meat warehouse, a crops silo, a pantry, an armoury and a powder magazine. The most representative wing - the north wing belonged to the pfleger - a kind of a prosecutor, a clerk wielding on behalf of the Order.
  • 13:00 Transfer to Lidzbark Warminski,
Lidzbark Warminski is an 18-thousands town at present. It is situated on the "Kopernikowski Route",Castles in Lidzbark Warmiñski where the Symsarna flows into the £yna. The town is 48 km from the capital of the Province of Warmia and Mazury, Olsztyn and 30 km from the state border in the north. Lidzbark Warminski was the capital of the historic land of Warmia for almost 400 years. Because of its location, numerous monuments of high class and its outstanding inhabitants, it is often called "the Pearl of Warmia". The most famous inhabitants of the town were, among others, Nicolas Copernicus (he lived there between 1503 and 1510) and Ignacy Krasicki (1767-1795), a writer, an art lover, a participant of the, so called, Thursday Dinners at the court of the last king of Poland, the creator of the castle gardens and the orangery.
  • 14:30 Accommodation in a hotel,
  • 15:00 Lunch in the hotel restaurant,
  • 16:30 visiting the castle,
  • In evening Knights Feast
Day 3 Castles in Olsztyn
  • 9:00 breakfast, delivery of lunchpackages
  • 10:00 Transfer to Olsztyn
  • 11:30 visiting the castle
Olsztyn was famous for the Castle of the Chapter of Warmia. The oldest part of the castle was built in 1348. Later, one more storey was added to the building and in the 15th and 16th centuries the south wing and the upper part of the tower came into existence. Among many unique, original exhibits which can be found in the castle, on the cloister wall there is an astronomical table made by Nicolas Copernicus. The museum offers visitors meetings called "Sunday in the Museum". During such meetings, visitors can, for example, try on an armour or perform in a concert. Other regular events taking place at the castle are famous nationwide meetings called "Let's Sing Poetry" and monthly concerts of a chamber ensemble "Pro Musica Antiqua" - a band under the patronage of the Musuem of Warmia and Mazury. At the High Gate, which is an entrance to the Old Town of Olsztyn, there is a starting point of the Red Trail of Nicolas Copernicus. This trail goes through Dobre Miasto, Lidzbark Warminski, Pieniê¿no and Braniewo to Frombork. Nidzica
  • 13:00 short sightseeing of Old City,
  • 13:00 Transfer to Nidzica
Nidzica, a historical town at the Nida, called the gate to Mazury. It is situated at an important tourist artery from Warsaw to Olsztyn, leading to the Great Mazurian Lakes. Nidzica was founded in the area of former Prussian tribes of the Sasins which were colonized by Polish settlers from the nearby Mazowsze and Kurpie in the 14th century. Nidzica became a certified town in 1381. The certificate was give to it by the Grand Master Winrych von Kniprode. The Gothic castle raised in those times remained and is a characteristic architectural element of the town. There are also remains of the city walls and a part of the turret in the east, a "small cloister", St Wojciech Church.
  • 16:30 visiting the castle,
  • 18:00 Accommodation in a hotel,
  • 19.00 Dinner in the hotel restaurant,
Day 4
  • 9:00 breakfast,
  • 10:00 Transfer to Ostroda
  • 11:30 visiting the castle
Ostroda is one of the oldest towns of Pojezierze Mazurskie. The most interesting monument of the town is a Gothic castle built in 1393 by the Teutonic Knights in place of a wooden 13th-century fortress. It was a seat of the Commanders of the Order. The castle, destroyed during the war, was rebuilt in 1977. Nowadays, many events take place in the courtyard and in the castle rooms. Other buildings worth seeing are: a Neo-Gothic church built in 1856 - 1875 with an early 20th century tower and a Neo-Gothic lutheran church from 1907. Castle in Malbork
  • 13:00 Transfer to Malbork,
  • 15:00 visiting the castle
Malbork was founded by the monks - knights, members of the Order of St Mary's Hospital of the German House in Jerusalem (this is the full name of the Teutonic Knights). In the 13th- 15th centuries at the right high bend of the Nogat, they built a three-part fortress and a town. The settlement was given the Chelmno town charter which quickened the development of the town. In the 15th century, within the town there were 174 houses, 85 of which were situated along the street market which can still be seen on the plan of the Old Town. The castle was placed on the UNESCO List of the World Culture Heritage in 1997, which proves its high value. Castle of Sztum
  • 18:00 Accommodation in a hotel,
  • 19.00 Knights Feast in the evening
Day 5
  • 9:00 breakfast,
  • 10:00 Transfer to Sztum (short visit to the castle),
The castle of Sztum, built in 1326-1331, served as a bridgehead protecting the fortress of Malbork from the south. The castle was also a residence of the Grand Master of the Order of the Teutonic Knights. It had belonged to the Order till 1466 when under the Torun Peace Agreement it was annexed by the Kingdom of Poland and became a residence of Polish Starosta. Also, in Sztum, land judgements for the Malbork Province took place and since the 16th century, there had been meetings of noblemen, the so-called small seyms.
  • 12.00 transfer to Kwidzyn (short visit to the castle),
The former Prussian possession was taken over by the Teutonic Knights in 1233 and in the same time it became a certified town. Between 1285 and 1587 the Marienwerder (St. Mary's Island) was a seat of the bishop. In 1440 the Prussian Union (for fighting the TeutonicKnights) was founded here.
  • 14:00 transportation to Brodnica (short visit in the castle),
The castle of Brodnica was built by the Teutonic Knights in 1305-1339. It served as a fortress protecting the strategic ford of the Drwêca leading to Brodnica, a town which was called the key and the gateway to Prussia. Brodnica
  • 15:00 lunch
  • 16:00 transfer to Warsaw

This program is only a suggestion and can be modified according to your requirements.
If you have any question or suggestion please do not hesitate to contact us

« go back|print